delightfullycoconuts

Food, Fun & Fotography

A No Where Near Lowfat Dish

on 12/14/2010

I was mulling through my pantry yesterday looking for something to make.  I didn’t want to go to the store and I didn’t make any meals plans.  I had most of the ingredients for this on hand, and what I didn’t have I substituted.  I found this in a magazine, it was a knock off from a dish at Chilis.  **Warning**  I normally don’t cook this high in fat but well, sometimes its worth it.  Drew took a bite and muttered “wow!”.  ‘Nuff said.

Bayou Chicken Alfredo

12 oz Penne
3 Tbsp Unsalted Butter
1 Tbsp Flour
1 1/2 Cup Half & Half
1/2 Grated Parmesan
Salt & Pepper
1 Lb Boneless Chicken Breasts
2 Tomatoes Diced
1 1/2 Tbsp Cajun Seasoning
2 Tsp. Vegetable Oil
1/4 Tsp Cayenne Pepper

Cook your Penne according to box.  I use whole wheat.  Gotta get some healthy in there somehow.

Melt the butter over medium in saucepan.  Add flour and whisk for one minute.

Add half & half.  I didn’t have any of this but I had heavy whipping cream.  So I substituted using half milk and half heavy whipping cream which is pretty much the same thing.

Stir until thickened, about 6 minutes.  Remove it from heat and add the parmesan. 

Add salt and pepper to your liking and cover and set aside.

While your sauce is cooking, start on your chicken.  I used 2 chicken breast and it was plenty for the dish.  I placed them in a plastic bag and pounded with a rolling pin till they were about 1/2 inch thick.

I then took them out and rubbed the cajun spice all over them.  I was out of cayenne pepper but after trying it without, I prefer it.  It was good but not too spicy for the kids.  Heat up the oil in a sauce pan over med heat and cook the chicken about 8 minutes per side.

You can always grill the chicken to save on some fat. I did it this way for the first time and it was so much more nummy.

Drain your noodles and pour into a large bowl.  Then take your chicken and slice into thin strips.

Toss your sauce with the pasta and then top with the chicken.  You can also add the diced tomatoes to the top for some crunch and color.  I had tomatoes but by the time this was all done, so was I and I wanted to eat.  Lazy, I know.

Ta Da, the final project!

It was YUM-O.  And now I have leftovers for the girls and I for dinner tonight since Drew is gone. (his flight was canceled due to fog, so he is sitting in Santa Barbara Airport…how fun!)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

