delightfullycoconuts

Food, Fun & Fotography

Sunday Pot Roast

on 01/02/2011

First, let me say.  My kitchen in this base house has no light.  It’s always pretty dark so taking pictures without my flash is hard, even with the ISO set high and my aperture at 2.8.  I don’t like this because I hate flash and always try not to use it.  Soooooo, anyway, my food photography might not always be great.  But hey, you gotta work with what ya got!

Anyhow, back from Christmas vacation and I am trying to get back in the swing of things.  I had this roast in the freezer and all the other things on hand.

Here are the ingredients.

 I don’t really have a “recipe” for this.  I just pretty much throw it together.  I will list what I use.

3 Lb Bottom Round Roast
Olive Oil
2 cups Red Cooking Wine
2 Cups Beef Broth
1 Med Onion
1 Tbsp Garlic
1 Bay Leaf
1 Tsp Dried Thyme
1 Can Diced tomatoes
Salt & Pepper
1 Cup Carrots, cut up
3 Large potatoes, cut up

First, I trim most the fat off the roast.  I like using bottom round roast which always cooks up great in the crockpot.


Then I salt and pepper both sides.  Add a couple tablespoons of olive oil to a skillet and brown the roast on all 4 sides.  This helps sear in the flavor.


Meanwhile, in my crockpot I pour the 2 cups red wine.

Then I put 2 beef bullion in 2 cups of water and put in the microwave for about 3 minutes to dissolve them.

While that is cooking, I then take my onion and chopped it with my Pampered Chef Chopper (which I am in love with!!!) and add it to the crockpot.

Next add the garlic.  I used the refrigerated kind for this recipe.  About a Tablespoon.

Throw in the bay leaf.

Then the can of tomatoes.  Don’t drain them.  I used petite diced with olive oil and garlic.

Pour in the beef stock that you heated in the microwave.

Stir everything and then add the roast.  Sprinkle about a tsp of thyme over it.

 I put this in about 10:30 am.  I cooked it on high till about 1:00, then I turned it down to low.  About 4 o’clock I added the potatoes and carrots.

Let it all cook until about 6:00.  It is soupy when its done.  I used a slotted spoon to lift the veggies up and put on the plate.

There ya go!  Enjoy!

2 responses to “Sunday Pot Roast

  1. Karla Austin says:

    So glad you put pictures of each step, it really helps!
    Keep up the great work……..and recipes.

  2. Kelly A says:

    I’m making this tomorrow 🙂 My only recommendation is to use a bottle of red wine and drink the rest!

Leave a Reply

