delightfullycoconuts

Food, Fun & Fotography

No Frills Chili

on 01/06/2011

I got this chili recipe originally from my Betty Crocker cookbook.  I have added things over the years to my liking.  It’s a pretty simple straightforward recipe.  Throw it in the crockpot in the morning and you are done!  I like beans and sometimes add an extra can.  If I do that, I just add more beef stock.  Today, I just did 3.

The Ingredients

1 Lb Hamburger Meat
1 Onion, chopped
1 Green Pepper, chopped
1 Tsp Minced Garlic
1 Can Diced tomatoes, chili flavor
1 Can Chili beans
2 Cans Red Kidney Beans, rinsed
1 Cup Beef Stock
1 Can Tomato Sauce
Chili Powder
Pepper

Chop your pepper and onion using the handy dandy Pampered Chef chopper.  (Did I mention before I *heart* mine.  I also *heart* my cutting board with built-in measuring cup.  I *heart* Pampered Chef!  

 

Place you meat in a skillet.  Here, I use my Pampered Chef meat chopper thingy.  Yes, I believe that is the correct name.  Anyhow, its great at getting the meat nice and small.

Add your garlic.  I use a lot because I ike things all garlic-y.  Again, I used the refrigerated version.

Add the onions and peppers to meat and cook until the meat is not pink.

While meat is cooking, start putting your other ingredients in the crockpot. 

Tomatoes

Chili Beans (don’t drain!)

Drain  and rinse the red kidney beans. Then add to crockpot.

Your meat should be done about now.  Add to crockpot.

I then add my tomato sauce and beef stock.  I put one bullion cube in 1 cup of water and cook in the microwave until its dissolved.  Then pour it in.

Now, just add as much chili powder as you like.  We like ours hot so I added a lot.  Just taste and decide.  I am sure I never add the same amount twice and I have never measured.  Today I added some jalapeno sauce for a little more kick.  Morgan doesn’t eat it (it’s one of her 3 free passes) and I figured I would make Brenna whatever I made Morgan, so I spiced it up!

So good!  Make with some cornbread and you are set.  We had leftover fresh bread from the bakery.  Yum!

One response to “No Frills Chili

  1. Michelle says:

    Looks yummy- but too (spicy) for me. I would have to cut out the hot stuff for this weanie! :0) LOVE BUSH’ Chili beans use them every time!!!!!

    I almost made your roast- but I Had already put mine in the crockpot before I saw your post — next time!!

    Enjoying reading your posts!! Keep it up- !!!

Leave a Reply

