delightfullycoconuts

Food, Fun & Fotography

Counting down the days

on 05/15/2011

I leave here in 34 days.  I really can’t believe that.  I am not looking forward to saying goodbye.  But this is what us military wives do, right?  Move.  A lot.

Anyhow, Drew left today for TDY to Orlando for the week.  I told him I was highly offended he would go do something like that in the middle of the PCS chaos.  But again, this is what we do.  What?  Moving overseas isn’t stressful enough for ya, let’s send your hubby across the U.S. for a week while you are in the middle of it all.

I was just saying my life was starting to get boring staying at home.  I didn’t have much to do during the day.  I spoke up too soon!  Now my days are filled with emails, phone calls, briefings, meetings, and whatever to get this move going.  Secretly (shhh, don’t tell) I like all the busyness.

So, I got 4 quotes on our SUV shipping over.  It’s going to be about $2600 door to door.  That is from my mom’s house in Mn all the way to Ramstein.  It sucks to pay that, but it’s what we have to do.

This week I disconnected all our satellites, internet, phones, all that jazz.  It took a whole morning.  That stuff is never fun!  I also got a quote for our insurance while living in Germany.  It is going up about $100 a month.  It’s good thing we get COLA (Cost of Living Allowance) while over there to make up for all the extra’s.

I am still a bit scared.  I am nervous about finding a home and getting our things. I am nervous about having to take their driving test and get a license, I cannot drive there until I do that.  So I need to be studying for that also.  I am nervous about how the cat is going to be on the way over.  She is getting a bit moody lately, I don’t know if she feels the move coming.  I am really wondering if she can handle it.  I am scared of not knowing what to do when we get there.

Blah.  On a better note, I had a garage sale yesterday and did pretty well.  I have 2 boxes to bring to the thrift store.  Hopefully, I get that done this week. I better go now and put it on my list or I will forget.

What a blubbering mess this post was.  That is my mind right now so it fits.  🙂

Leave a Reply

